Archive for October 24, 2007

3 Word Wednesday LVIII

Welcome to Three Word Wednesday. Each week, I will post three (or more) words. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to write something using all of those words. It can be a few lines, a story, a poem, anything. I’ll also attempt to write something using the same words.

Leave a comment if you participate. Many fun and interesting people might visit your blog.

This week’s words are:
Care
Unexpected
Weekend

Jason stood on the familiar plastic green doormat with the white and yellow flower. He wasn’t sure how long doormats typically lasted, but this one had to be up there in the all-time doormat longevity rankings. Finally, the door opened and there stood Keith, with a sheepish look Jason had seen at least twenty times before.

“Uh oh. What is it?” Jason squinted, expecting the worst.

“I… uh… I can’t go,” Keith stammered.

“What? Why not? We’ve had this planned for weeks.”

“I kinda promised Lauren I’d… take care of her cat,” Keith replied almost ashamedly.

“What? When? She dumped you!”

“Well, something unexpected came up and she had to go out of town for the weekend.”

“What came up?”

“Ski trip,” Keith looked at his feet and mumbled so quietly that Jason didn’t understand him.

“What?”

“She went on a ski trip.”

“Oh my gaaaaaaa!” Jason slapped his hand to his forehead, covering his eyes and shaking his head in disbelief. He let his hand fall away before continuing. “You need help.”

“What?” Keith asked innocently. “She needed someone. Besides you and Troy can still go.”

“I can’t go with Troy.”

“Why not?”

“He’s your friend. We don’t have anything to talk about.”

“So?”

“You don’t understand. It’s… hard to explain. We need like a third-party mediator to hang out.”

“Oh yeah, and I’m the one who needs help,” Keith said sarcastically.

“You do.”

“Well, you’re welcome to hang out here with me and Princess.”

Jason looked down to see a long-haired white cat had come to nuzzle itself against Keith’s leg.

“No thanks. I think I’ll go home and advertise for some new friends.”

Stepping on the plastic green doormat again as he left, the symbolism wasn’t lost on him.

“I wrote her off for the tenth time today, and practiced all the things I would say. But she came over. I lost my nerve. I took her back and made her dessert…”

October 24, 2007 at 8:55 am 65 comments


About Me

Name: Bone
Age: 33
Location: Alabama, USA
October 2007
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts