Archive for February 25, 2007

The fever

The First Ever Roast-A-Bone is coming Thursday. Stay tuned for details…

On US Highway 98, just east of Destin, between Miramar and Santa Rosa, sits a little cafe called The Donut Hole. It’s become tradition that on the day we leave the beach, we stop there for breakfast.

I recommend the southwestern omelet. And the doughnuts, of course. I always get a box of doughnuts for the road. The food is great. The service sometimes lacking because it’s so busy. But I’ve never been when there wasn’t a line of people out the door and down the side of the building waiting.

I wish I was there.

There’s a beachside restaurant called The Back Porch, with big bay windows to let in the ocean breeze, an outside bar, and picnic tables in the sand. I recommend the dreamsicle cake for dessert. And any and all of the seafood. You’ll think they must have caught it that morning. And maybe they did.

I wish I was there.

There’s an empty spot in the sand, just at the edge of the uprush, perfect for sitting. Where the water might wash over your feet once every five or six waves. Where you can bury your toes in the cool, damp sand, and think about anything and everything. Or nothing at all. And even though it’s only a few hundred feet to the highway, it seems a million miles away.

I wish I was there.

I’ve got beach fever, if you can’t tell. The highs have been between 60 and 70 here for seemingly the past week. I’ve been driving with the sunroof open, even at night. And last night before the storms moved in, it was warm and very windy, and reminded me of the ocean breeze.

So I’ve been listening to Buffett and thinking about the beach. The sand. The breeze. The waves. Gorgeous American girls working on their tans. All the while, me having no clue as to whether they are 16 or 29.

Last night, I opened the window so I could listen to it rain. Seemed like it rained for twelve hours. That’s another good thing about the beach. Even when it rains, it never seems to last very long.

I wish I was there.

“I remember Sunday mornings, walking on the beach. And that place we’d stop for breakfast, with the old red vinyl seats…”

February 25, 2007 at 10:44 pm 35 comments


About Me

Name: Bone
Age: 33
Location: Alabama, USA
February 2007
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Recent Posts