Archive for February 1, 2007

One man’s dusting is another man’s blizzard

Well, I’m on new Blogger now. Not by choice. I was forced to switch over, or never post on my blog again.

While attempting to sign in today, I was rather rudely informed that I would no longer be able to sign in using my old Blogger account. Apparently they have all the kinks worked out of the new Blogger. (Pause for laughter.) And now they are requiring everyone to switch over.

Nevermind that new Blogger is not able to be imported to WordPress. Or that it seems to have even more issues than old Blogger. Or that after I switched, several of my comments are now showing up as anonymous.

This must be what it feels like to live under a totalitarian regime.

Blogger: The North Korea of the Blogosphere. (Copyright 1999-2007, Google.)

It snowed!

Here!

Last night!

Sure, it was in the forecast. But it’s been in the forecast before. To wit, one of the local weathermen has predicted snow three times in the last week. This despite the fact I don’t think it has snowed here three times in the past five years.

Shortly after midnight, I looked out the window to see if it was doing anything yet. And it was! Snow was falling. Like beautiful flakes of crystalized ice come down from heaven. I put on jeans, an old sweatshirt, socks and shoes, and ran downstairs and outside, knowing it might not last long.

Have I mentioned how much I love snow before? Well, perhaps here. And maybe here. And I suppose this might have given some clue. But if you didn’t already know, I love the snow! It’s beautiful and inspiring, exhilarating and peaceful, all at once.

I tried to take some pictures. Taking pictures of the snow at night is not the easiest thing. Not to mention the weird feeling that came with using the flash at 1:00 in the morning. This is about the best one I got:

The snow was a long-awaited, wonderful treat. It fell for about an hour, covering the rooftops and most of the cars. I stayed up until after 1:30 watching it, until it changed over to sleet.

This morning when I woke up, the sleet had changed to rain. And the snow was all but gone. I felt like Moses on Mount Nebo. As if I’d been given a glimpse of the promised land, but never got a chance to play in it.

Still, having seen it’s majestic beauty, I can now die in peace.

“If I lay here, if I just lay here, would you lie with me and just forget the world…”

February 1, 2007 at 9:04 pm 28 comments


About Me

Name: Bone
Age: 33
Location: Alabama, USA
February 2007
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Recent Posts