Archive for November 29, 2006

Three Word Wednesday #12

Each week, I will post three (or more) random words. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to write something using all of those words. It can be a few lines, a story, a poem, anything. It doesn’t have to be perfect. The idea is to let your mind wander and write what it will. I’ll also write something using the same three words.

Be sure to leave a comment if you participate.

This week’s words are:
Net
Lock
Flipped

Hi… I know you didn’t expect to see me here. I got the address from your mother. You look better than ever. Look, I don’t quite know how to say this, so I’m just gonna say it.

I love you.

I’ve never stopped loving you. And I know you probably don’t feel the same, but I’ve basically been running around in circles the past five years. Looking for something that I’d already found. Looking for something I lost.

And I know this probably doesn’t change things, and that’s OK. But I just had to let you know. Just in case…

Standing on her porch, I went over the words again and again in my head. What I wanted to say. How I wanted to say it. My hands shook as I reached to press the doorbell.

This was it. I was jumping without a net. But the danger wasn’t in dying, or failing. The danger was in not living. Not trying.

In a few seconds, I would know. And that would be enough.

My heart pounded into my head. My stomach flipped. My throat was suddenly dry. I attempted to swallow, but couldn’t. Then I heard someone turn the lock.

“Since you’ve been gone, there’s something I wanna say. Since you’ve been gone, there’s no one taking your place. Since you’ve been gone, I’ve just been foolin’ around…”

November 29, 2006 at 12:31 pm 21 comments


About Me

Name: Bone
Age: 33
Location: Alabama, USA
November 2006
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Recent Posts