Word Verification

January 9, 2006 at 10:20 am 26 comments

I’m sure we’ve all had our difficulties with the Blogger word verification letters. At least I have, sometimes having to try two or three times before I get them right. I wonder if the word verification letters are generated automatically, or if Blogger hires someone to manually come up with them. For the purpose of this post, I’m going to pretend it’s the latter…

Pseudo-serious beer commercial voice:
“Today we salute you, Mister Word-Verification-Maker-Upper.”

(80’s-pop-sounding-voice singing: “Mister Word Verification Maker Uppuhhh…”)

“Hour after hour, you tirelessly toil at your trusty qwerty keyboard, carefully coming up with endless combinations of four to ten letters that don’t make up actual words.”

(Singing: “No real wuhhhds…”)

“Sure, you could have used that two year business degree to work in an office somewhere, making coffee and running errands. But no.”

(Singing: “His nose isn’t browwwn…”)

“Instead, you chose this thankless task, taking full advantage of your one hundred thirty words per minute typing skills.”

(Singing: “He types so faaast…”)

“So crack open a cold one, O Eradicator of Comment Spam. And the next time we find the word verification letters a little hard to read, we’ll remember you’re just keeping spam at bay.”

(Singing: “Super duper eradicator…”)

“I wonder what you’re doing. Imagine where you are. There’s oceans in between us, but that’s not very far…”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Word Verification You have to feel my pants

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Uisce  |  January 9, 2006 at 11:16 am

    ROTFLMAO!! I remember taking typing class in high school, back before the information age, and wondering what my AWESOME (90 wpm) skills were going to get me in life! Ta-da!! Oh, and one more thing. tvuzzpeb.

  • 2. Audra  |  January 9, 2006 at 11:26 am

    OMG I was crying. I seriously loves those Coors commercials. Classic! Why am I in college when I could be a spam eradicating word verification creator? Hmmmm

  • 3. Cindy  |  January 9, 2006 at 11:46 am

    Awesome!!! I love those commercials to begin with, but your ‘take’ on it is priceless! Please produce this with Kyle and Co?

  • 4. Rae  |  January 9, 2006 at 12:19 pm

    *laughing hysterically*
    I must be in an odd mood that was absolutely hiliarious too me this mornin…
    rprsxuca

  • 5. Bone  |  January 9, 2006 at 12:45 pm

    Uisce: I never could type very fast in high school. Had to take a test for a job I applied for a few years ago and my speed had more than doubled. No doubt from chatting online all day with babes.

    Audra: I thought it was Bud Light? Perhaps if blogging keeps growing, they’ll use my idea one day and I’ll get some much deserved compensation.

    Cindy: That’s an idea. Although I don’t think we could adequately do the singing part. And really, that’s a big part of what makes it funny. You know I read where that’s the lead singer of Survivor who does those.

    Rae: Thanks… I think :-) I was wondering if this was one of those ideas that was funny at midnight, but then in the light of day, not so much.

    And feel free to include your word verification letters with each comment! srxrki

  • 6. Audra  |  January 9, 2006 at 1:10 pm

    It very well could be Bud Light. Everytime I hear them is at the bar…and well obviously I’m drunk. In fact maybe that’s why I find them so damn funny…hmmmm

  • 7. Groovychick  |  January 9, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    Why is it that they always on those wierd backgrounds too? Does that make is more difficult for spammers to read? I feel retarded b/c I can’t read between the lines! fkyeoo

  • 8. Bone  |  January 9, 2006 at 3:14 pm

    Audra: Perhaps my blog would be funnier if everyone had a few drinks before reading.

    Groovychick: Umm.. fkyeoo? Is that your word verification or a thinly-veiled message to me? :)

    uskmgh

  • 9. InterstellarLass  |  January 9, 2006 at 3:43 pm

    HA HA HA! You did such a good job on this one! “Real Men of Genius!”

  • 10. meghansdiscontent  |  January 9, 2006 at 4:17 pm

    What is wrong with you . . . is no little thing. :)
    Just thought you should know.
    You should also know – you’ve been tagged.

  • 11. ocg  |  January 9, 2006 at 5:36 pm

    Bone-

    You crack me up!

    Thank you for that…

    and by “that” I mean

    …oh nevermind…

    ;-)

    – OCG

    (argqr)

  • 12. HB  |  January 9, 2006 at 5:37 pm

    Oh Sir Bone, you are one brilliant man. I only wish I could be half as witty and creative as you.

    hjmeg

  • 13. Java Boo Boo  |  January 9, 2006 at 6:08 pm

    Word Verification…. hate it.

    We may have to recreate this post in an audio form on our next radio show! … which is way overdue!

  • 14. southie  |  January 9, 2006 at 6:45 pm

    Seriously, how long have you been saving the beer gimmick post up for? Niiiice. =)

  • 15. Bone  |  January 9, 2006 at 7:09 pm

    Lass: Thanks. Things always start out funny in my mind, but then don’t seem so funny when I type them out.

    Meghan: Is that from a movie? OK, I might try to do the tagged thing in a day or two.

    OCG: No, please continue. I’m very interested to hear.

    Wow! Nice pic, btw ;-)

    HB: OK, I’m not sure if there’s some sarcasm in there or not. I’m just gonna assume there is :-)

    Java: Yes, Cindy suggested I produce it. That would make quite the audio post I’m sure.

    Southie: Actually, I mentioned the idea to someone on New Year’s Eve. Then kept seeing comments on other blogs about the confusing word verification, so I decided to unveil it.

    ojctvom

  • 16. Anonymous  |  January 9, 2006 at 7:17 pm

    That made my day. Really.

  • 17. Darkneuro  |  January 9, 2006 at 7:45 pm

    Bone,
    I’m pretty much a lurker here, but that’s just too funny to let go.
    Bravissimo, Bone. It’s a giggle.
    DN

  • 18. sherry  |  January 9, 2006 at 8:07 pm

    Laughing and laughing a little more.

    {applause}
    Did I spell that correct?

  • 19. Spanky  |  January 9, 2006 at 8:41 pm

    Oh, Bone-LMAO! That was the funniest post I’ve ever read! I love it!

    Go Colts!

  • 20. pia  |  January 9, 2006 at 10:37 pm

    It’s hysterical; got a great range Bone, but I’m on painkillers ;-)

  • 21. carnealian  |  January 10, 2006 at 7:45 am

    Bone, this is very funny! I agree with Java Boo Boo, you should do this in audio form. It would be quite funny!!!

    pualfbnz

  • 22. Bone  |  January 10, 2006 at 9:38 am

    Anonymous: Thank you.

    Darkneuro: Ooo, every blogger loves to draw out the lurkers. Thanks.

    Sherry: Yes, I believe that’s correct.

    Spanky: Thank you. You guys are much too kind.

    Pia: Actually, laughter is the best medicine. So you can send me the pills :-)

    Carnealian: Thanks, Carney. I’ll see what i can do.

    uemces

  • 23. sallwood  |  January 10, 2006 at 11:17 am

    I called my sister and had her pull up your blog. Please do this in audio and post for us yankees that soooo want to hear this realized. Bravissimo Bone!

    yzzpip

  • 24. hotpinksox  |  January 10, 2006 at 12:52 pm

    I love it! That is the funniest thing I have read in days.

  • 25. Bone  |  January 10, 2006 at 3:11 pm

    Sallwood: Nothing like good old word of mouth! Thanks.

    hotpinksox: Thank you. Thanks for stopping by.

    xohtfn

  • 26. <a href="http://courses.cvcc.vccs.edu/ENG112_GROSS/_Chat_Room/000008fd.htm">Anonimous</a>  |  September 10, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    Excellent website. Good work. Very useful. I will bookmark!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

Name: Bone
Age: 33
Location: Alabama, USA
January 2006
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts